PDA

View Full Version : JWs - Free of pagan influence?

ChrisLaRock
12-19-2008, 11:18 PM
I studied with JWs for almost a year, and one thing was always being brought up by the JW elder. He would boast that JWs are completely free of all pagan contamination.

This claim begs the question; If JWs are free of pagan contamination, why are they permitted to wear wedding rings and neck ties? Wedding rings, for example, date back to pagans who worshipped saturn.

BrianH
04-12-2009, 04:04 AM
Good question.

And what about all the Masonic (Babylonian) imagery in their early publications and all over the grave site of their founder? Why do JWs exchange money with more of the same pagan imagery all over it? And what about the content of Acts 17, where Paul quotes Aratus, a pagan Greek pantheist - is that text not of "pagan" origin?

-BH

PostTribber
05-03-2009, 11:35 AM
pagans believe in 'many' gods. JW's believe Jesus is 'a' god. if JW's believe the Father is 'a' god, and Jesus is 'a' god, then that's pagan.

TRiG
08-02-2009, 01:05 PM
pagans believe in 'many' gods. JW's believe Jesus is 'a' god. if JW's believe the Father is 'a' god, and Jesus is 'a' god, then that's pagan.

Pagans believe in many Gods.
Witnesses believe in many Gods.
Therefore, Witnesses are Pagans.

Cows are mammals.
Goats are mammals.
Therefore, goats are cows.

TRiG.:rolleyes:

johnd
09-07-2009, 09:41 PM
Therefore, Witnesses are Pagans....

Cows are mammals.
Goats are mammals.
Therefore, goats are cows.TRiG.:rolleyes:

I appreciate the fact you are no longer JW, Trig but the logical fallacy is in your illustration.

reread both carefully.

TRiG
09-08-2009, 03:26 AM
I appreciate the fact you are no longer JW, Trig but the logical fallacy is in your illustration.

reread both carefully.I have done. The illustration has no fallacy that I can see.

TRiG.:)

johnd
09-08-2009, 05:53 PM
Cows are mammals.
Goats are mammals.
Therefore, goats and cows are mammals.

In keeping with the definition of mammals.