Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: JWs - Free of pagan influence?

ChrisLaRock

Default JWs - Free of pagan influence?

I studied with JWs for almost a year, and one thing was always being brought up by the JW elder. He would boast that JWs are completely free of all pagan contamination.

This claim begs the question; If JWs are free of pagan contamination, why are they permitted to wear wedding rings and neck ties? Wedding rings, for example, date back to pagans who worshipped saturn.

BrianH

Good question.

And what about all the Masonic (Babylonian) imagery in their early publications and all over the grave site of their founder? Why do JWs exchange money with more of the same pagan imagery all over it? And what about the content of Acts 17, where Paul quotes Aratus, a pagan Greek pantheist - is that text not of "pagan" origin?

-BH

PostTribber

Default Polytheistic

pagans believe in 'many' gods. JW's believe Jesus is 'a' god. if JW's believe the Father is 'a' god, and Jesus is 'a' god, then that's pagan.

TRiG

Default Failure of basic logic

Quote Originally Posted by PostTribber View Post
    pagans believe in 'many' gods. JW's believe Jesus is 'a' god. if JW's believe the Father is 'a' god, and Jesus is 'a' god, then that's pagan.
    Pagans believe in many Gods.
    Witnesses believe in many Gods.
    Therefore, Witnesses are Pagans.

Cows are mammals.
    Goats are mammals.
    Therefore, goats are cows.

TRiG.

johnd

Quote Originally Posted by TRiG View Post
    Cows are mammals.
    Goats are mammals.
    TRiG.
    I appreciate the fact you are no longer JW, Trig but the logical fallacy is in your illustration.

reread both carefully.

TRiG

Default ?

Quote Originally Posted by johnd View Post
    I appreciate the fact you are no longer JW, Trig but the logical fallacy is in your illustration.

reread both carefully.
    I have done. The illustration has no fallacy that I can see.

TRiG.

johnd

Default de-flawed...

Cows are mammals.